Showing posts with label food network. Show all posts
Showing posts with label food network. Show all posts

Monday, January 19, 2009

What The?!!?!

Ok, so I wake up this morning with all the intentions of a pretty full day...you know, taking some things back, gym, grocery shopping, work. Little did I know I would open the curtains this morning to find THIS going on outside:

snow! 001

I didnt even know it was supposed to snow!! There goes my day, I guess. Yoga on the laptop sounds good to me! haha. Maybe the mall will close and I wont have to work either. Im tellin ya people around here FREAK when it snows even a little, because its not that often that it does. oh and yes, that is my poor little car covered in snow...do I even own a ice scraper?!

"The FDA is warning people not to eat peanut butter because of a salmonella outbreak that officials believe claimed the lives of six people, and made more than 400 others sick." For those of you who hadnt heard about the peanut butter thing here is a link to the report. Its kinda scary, but I still finished off my jar of cinnamon raisin swirl last night ;). I figure if Im still fine after eating most of the jar over the past few weeks, the PB should be uncontaminated.

Does anyone else watch the food network as much as I do?! I just love it for some reason, and its kinda embarrassing to admit! Who is your favorite cook?...or what is your favorite show? I think my favorite cook would have to be sandra lee, all her recipes are really simple...PLUS she always has "cocktail time", and who doesnt love a good cocktail?! and yes, I cant help it...I think bobby flay is a cutie!

I just got off the phone with my mom and we have made plans to watch the inauguration tomorrow morning together. How appropriate is it that the very first african american president is being sworn in the day after Martin Luther King Jr. day?! Its so amazing how far we have come in this country and it really makes me proud that we are no longer living in the dark ages when it comes to race and people who are different. I strongly believe that everyone should have love for all people, even people who are different. America is such a melting pot and I love that. I love discovering new people, new food, new clothes, etc. So I hope everyone will EMBRACE CHANGE.

Well, Im off to make some breakie and finish up some stuffs around the house. For those of you who have the day off, I hope you enjoy it dears! And for those of you who dont...make the most of it and STILL enjoy it!

I leave you with some of my favorite quotes from MLK and they are all so fitting with the current events:

"The art of acceptance is the art of making someone who has just done you a small favor wish that he might have done you a greater one."

"The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy."

"We may have all come on different ships, but we're in the same boat now."

"Faith is taking the first step even when you don't see the whole staircase."

Monday, December 8, 2008

I love sushi!

Tonight was so much fun! me and three other of the girls that I have gone all through college with went out for a celebratory dinner. we decided to get all dressed up and I convinced everyone to go to my favorite sushi place, stir-fry. None of them had ever been there! I just love it!
I was the only one that had sushi though (it is so hard to find people around here that are adventurous enough to try sushi) but it is my personal theory that someone who says they dont like sushi is someone who has never tried it! its just soooo good! I have lready been promised a nice sushi dinner one night while i am in California! I didnt get pictures of the food...I feel a little embarrassed about taking pictures of food in front of other people. Did anyone else feel this way when they started thier blog?! Anyways I ordered a plain tuna roll that looked a little like this:

http://img.timeinc.net/time/daily/2008/0801/tuna_sushi_0123.jpg

AND a Spider Roll that looked a little like this:
http://www.foodiebytes.com/img/iotd/spiderroll.jpg
And of course I HAD to get my favorite drink that they make there, I have never seen it anywhere else, so I always have to get it whenever I go, its called a FLIRTINI...yum yum yum!!
I talked it up so much that all the other girls HAD to try it too! Here is Crystal with her flirtini:
ANDDDD I think she liked it!
Here is Jessica, she has been the BIGGEST support throughout my entire student teaching, definitely a shoulder to cry on! and she is getting married after graduation! I just love this girl:
And here is jessica and I together, everyone always got us mixed up in class! I dont know if I really see it, maybe a small resemblance?! haha. Never mind the fact that we are wearing almost IDENTICAL outifts!!
It was a very nice dinner and I am sad that I will not have class with these girls anymore, but I know we will stay in touch.

Currently I am watching one of my FAVE channels, FOOD NETWORK! It may be kinda sad that I can name almost everyone of the "celebrities" on this channel. Diner, Drive-ins, and Dives just ended and now I am watching Good Eats! LOVE me some Alton Brown. I loved that other show that he did, dining on asphalt.
Anyway, I think im rambling, I have a BIG day tomorrow (getting all my school work wrapped up and getting things together for my trip) and I have to get up pretty early to get it all started, so I better hit the hay!
GOODNIGHT!